Where the Sun Shines Out A Novel

By: Catalano, Kevin

Price: $63.00

Quantity: 1 available

Book Condition: As new


292pp. 8vo. Black paper over boards, silver gilt on spine. Book is signed by the author to the title page. Book has a complete number line starting with 1, is unread, unmarked, unclipped, tight, bright, and Brodart protected. Gift quality.


More Description


A raw, unflinching literary debut for fans of Dennis Lehane and Tom Franklin examining the aftershocks of survival, and the price of salvation.

In the blue-collar town of Chittenango, New York, two young boys are abducted from a local festival and taken to a cabin in the woods. One is kept; one is killed. When they are next seen, ten-year-old Dean has escaped by swimming across Oneida Lake holding his brother' s dead body.

As the years pass, the people of Chittenango struggle to cope with the collateral damage of this unspeakable act of violence, reverberations that disrupt the community and echo far beyond. With nothing holding it together, Dean's family disintegrates under the twin weights of guilt and grief, and the unspoken acknowledgment that the wrong child survived. At the center of it all, Dean himself must find a place in a future that never should have been his.

In a sweeping narrative spanning decades and told from alternating points of view, Where the Sun Shines Out tells the story of a town and the inevitable trauma we inflict upon each other when we're trying our best. Exploring the bonds, and breakdowns, of families, Kevin Catalano's fearless debut reminds us that although the path to redemption is pockmarked, twisted, and often hidden from view, somehow the sun makes it through.

Title: Where the Sun Shines Out A Novel

Author Name: Catalano, Kevin

Categories: Crime Fiction,

Edition: First

Publisher: New York, Skyhorse Publishing: 2017

ISBN Number: 1510721991

ISBN Number 13: 9781510721999

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: As new

Jacket Condition: as new Jacket

Inscription: Signed

Seller ID: 0002367