The Secret Wisdom of the Earth A Novel

By: Scotton, Christopher

Price: $45.00

Quantity: 1 available

Book Condition: As new


468pp. 8vo. Paper over boards. Author has signed his name only on the title page. Book is a stated first American edition with a complete number line from 1-10. It is unread, unmarked, unclipped, tight, straight, clean, and Brodart protected. Author's debut fiction. Gift quality.


More Description


"A marvelous debut...has everything a big, thick novel should have, and I hated to put it down." - John Grisham

"A page-turner." - New York Times Book Review

For readers of The Story of Edgar Sawtelle, this is a dramatic and deeply moving novel about an act of violence in a small Appalachian town and the repercussions that will forever change a young man's view of human cruelty and compassion.

After seeing the death of his younger brother in a terrible home accident, fourteen-year-old Kevin and his grieving mother are sent for the summer to live with Kevin's grandfather. In this town of Medgar, Kentucky, a peeled-paint coal town deep in Appalachia, Kevin quickly falls in with a half-wild hollow kid named Buzzy Fink who schools him in the mysteries and magnificence of the woods.

The town is beset by a massive mountaintop removal operation that is blowing up the hills and back filling the hollows. Kevin's grandfather and others in town attempt to rally the citizens against the "company" and its powerful owner to stop the plunder of their mountain heritage. But when Buzzy witnesses a brutal hate crime, a sequence is set in play that will test Buzzy and Kevin to their absolute limits in an epic struggle for survival in the Kentucky mountains.

*Includes Reading Group Guide*

Title: The Secret Wisdom of the Earth A Novel

Author Name: Scotton, Christopher

Categories: Fiction,

Edition: First

Publisher: New York, Grand Central Publishing: 2015

ISBN Number: 1455551929

ISBN Number 13: 9781455551927

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: As new

Jacket Condition: as new Jacket

Inscription: Signed

Seller ID: 0001843