The Orphanmaster

By: Zimmerman, Jean

Price: $40.00

Quantity: 1 available

More Description

From a debut novelist, a gripping historical thriller and rousing love story set in seventeenth-century Manhattan

It's 1663 in the tiny, hardscrabble Dutch colony of New Amsterdam, now present-day southern Manhattan. Orphan children are going missing, and among those looking into the mysterious state of affairs are a quick-witted twenty-two-year-old trader, Blandine von Couvering, herself an orphan, and a dashing British spy named Edward Drummond.

Suspects abound, including the governor's wealthy nephew, a green-eyed aristocrat with decadent tastes; an Algonquin trapper who may be possessed by a demon that turns people into cannibals; and the colony's own corrupt and conflicted orphanmaster. Both the search for the killer and Edward and Blandine's newfound romance are endangered, however, when Blandine is accused of being a witch and Edward is sentenced to hang for espionage. Meanwhile, war looms as the English king plans to wrest control of the colony.

Jean Zimmerman brings New Amsterdam and its surrounding wilderness alive for modern-day readers with exacting period detail. Lively, fast paced, and full of colorful characters, "The Orphanmaster" is a dramatic page-turner that will appeal to fans of Hilary Mantel and Geraldine Brooks.

Title: The Orphanmaster

Author Name: Zimmerman, Jean

Categories: Crime Fiction,

Edition: First edition. First Printing

Publisher: New York, Viking Press: 2012

ISBN Number: 0670023647

ISBN Number 13: 9780670023646

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: Fine

Jacket Condition: fine Jacket

Inscription: Signed

Seller ID: 0001250

Description: 418pp. 8vo. Signed on the title page by the author, book has a complete number line from 1-10. Spine head has a slight push, otherwise book is tight, crisp, unread, and unmarked. Jacket is Brodart protected. The author's "seventeenth-century New Amsterdam teems with enough intrigue, lust, and madness to give our own twenty-first-century Big Apple a run for its money." (jacket blurb).

Keywords: Collectible - Like New; First Edition; Signed; Dust Jacket - Like New,